Event is FINISHED

Sacred//Profane - A Storytelling Event

Description

PLEASE NOTE THE TIMINGS BELOW FOR YOUR TIME ZONE :)

What happens if we reimagine the South Asian mythology and folklore that we grew up with?

Would they beter reflect the world we now live in? How can we use these myths and stories to interrogate feminism, patriarchy, and the intersectionality of our identities?
What does collaboration across multiple time zones and countries look like? How do various parts of the South Asian diaspora make art? What can we learn from one another?

Held on Saturday, the 24th of October, Sacred//Profane will gather beloved storytellers around the Zoom fireplace to retell and rewrite our stories. Watch these creatives attempt to create new imaginings of everyone from Sohni Mahiwal to Mariamman to Sita to the angel Azrael.

The event will be held at:
8:00PM - 9:30PM IST
10:30PM - 12:00AM MYT
10:30AM - 12:00PM EST
2:30PM - 4:00PM GMT
7:30AM - 9:00AM PST

Doors open 15 minutes before.

Post the storytelling session, we will then host a discussion with the audience to talk about what we witnessed and further dive into the interrogations that took place.

Featuring:
Anjali Madgula (United States)
Ashvinder Kaur (Malaysia)
Kuku Devarajan (United States)
Melizarani T.Selva (Malaysia)
Nilofer (Canada)
Rachna (India)
Simran Uppal (UK)
Veshalini Naidu (Malaysia)

This event is produced, organized and curated by:
Dhinesha Stories & Coaching (Malaysia)
Storycellar (India)
Fresh Lime Soda Productions (United States)

We believe in the event being as accessible as possible while ensuring the performers are paid for their labour.
Please purchase/obtain a ticket at the price point that best reflects your level of accessibility.

The Zoom link will be shared 12-24 hours before the event.

If you are facing any payment or credit card issues, please contact peatix.com/contact
For all other questions and queries, please email hello@dhinesha.com

Updates
  • The event description was updated. Diff#783907 2020-10-19 15:11:02
More updates
Sat Oct 24, 2020
7:45 PM - 9:30 PM IST
Add to Calendar
Venue
Online event
Tickets
Full Price Ticket SOLD OUT $10.00
Half Price Ticket SOLD OUT $5.00
Accessibility Ticket FULL
Accessibility (Free) Ticket FULL
Organizer
Dhinesha Stories & Coaching
54 Followers

Sponsored content